Aparajita Sarangi Wins The Battle Of Ex-Bureaucrats

Reading Time: 1 minute

Bhubaneswar: Former bureaucrats and BJP candidate Aparajita Sarangi has upset the BJD’s applecart by winning the Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha constituency.

She defeated ex-Mumbai police commissioner Arup Patnaik (BJD) by a margin of over 20,000 votes.

A 1994-batch Odisha-cadre IAS officer, Aparajita took the political plunge in November last year after opting for voluntary retirement with an eye on the 2019 elections.