IAS Reshuffle: Samarth Verma Appointed BMC Commissioner 

Reading Time: 1 minute

Bhubaneswar: In a reshuffle in IAS cadre officers, the Odisha government on Saturday appointed Samarth Verma as Commissioner of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC).
According to a General Administration notification, 2013 batch IAS Shubham Saxena will replace Verma, the 2010 batch IAS officer, as Sambalpur collector.

Besides, 2003 batch IAS Anil Samal will take charge as Revenue Divisional Commissioner (RDC) Central Division.

Similarly, 2008 batch IAS Yamini Sarangi, who is the Collector of Jagatsinghpur has been transferred and posted as Joint Secretary, Health and Family Welfare. She will be replaced by the Rayagada Collector and 2006 batch IAS officer Guha Poonam Tapas Kumar.

This apart, promotee IAS Pramod Kumar Behera has been posted as Rayagada Collector, while two promotee IAS officers, Bibhuti Bhusan Das and Manoj Mohanty have been posted as Collector of Jharsuguda and Angul respectively, the notification added.

With the Assembly and Lok Sabha elections around the corner, the Election Commission of India had recently directed the state governments to transfer senior bureaucrats and police officers who are at their present place of postings for three years and more.

Acting on the directive of the Commission, the Odisha government has carried out a reshuffle in the IAS cadre. There will be a major reshuffle in the senior IAS and IPS cadre very soon, official sources said.