KS Jhaveri Sworn In As Chief Justice Of Orissa High Court

Cuttack: Justice Kalpesh Satyendra Jhaveri, senior judge of the Rajasthan High Court, was sworn in as the 30th Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court here on Sunday.

Justice Jhaveri was administered the oath and secrecy by the Governor Ganeshi Lal at a special function on the court premises in presence of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and other senior officials.

Enrolled in the Bar in 1983, Justice Jhaveri was appointed as Additional Judge of the Gujarat High Court in 2004. He became a permanent Judge in 2005. After serving for 11 years in the Gujarat High Court, he was transferred to Rajasthan High Court in August 2016.

The Supreme Court Collegium on July 20 had recommended the appointment of Justice Jhaveri as the new Chief Justice of Orissa High Court and Justice Vineet Saran’s elevation to the apex court.

Later, the Union Law and Justice Ministry, in a notification on August 4, appointed Justice Jhaveri as the Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court and the outgoing Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court, Justice Vineet Saran, as a judge of the Supreme Court.

Following the vacancy, Justice Indrajit Mohanty was officiating as the acting Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court since then.