Naveen Felicitates Odia Rugby Women Players

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Tuesday felicitated seven Odia Rugby women players who won a bronze medal for India at the Asian Women’s Rugby Championship in Philippines.

The players are Hupi Majhi, Laxmipriya Sahu, Meerarani Hembram, Subhalaxmi Barik, Sumitra Nayak, Parbati Kisku and Rajani Sabar

Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera and sprinter Dutee Chand were also present on the occasion.

The Indian women’s Rugby team created history last week in Manila by registering its first ever international victory against Singapore.

Sumitra emerged as the star of the match by scoring a penalty in the dying minutes. India won the game 21-19.




Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.