Cabinet okays addl incentive for doctor posts in 4 new medical colleges

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Bhubaneswar: The state cabinet on Wednesday approved eight proposals, including additional financial incentives for doctors taking up postings in new government medical colleges.
Four new medical colleges are coming up in Koraput, Baripada, Balasore and Balangir. The decision is being seen as an attempt to attract doctors to take up postings in KBK (Koraput-Balangir-Kalahandi) region and those in districts far off of the existing medical colleges.
Speaking to media after the meeting, Health minister Pratap Jena informed that the new government medical colleges have been divided into two zones. While Zone-I comprises KBK and KBK plus areas, Zone-II includes those situated at least 100 km away from the existing government medical colleges established before 2017.
“Professors, associate professors and assistant professors taking postings in KBK region will be given cash incentive of Rs 1.25 Lakh, Rs 1 Lakh, and Rs 50,000 respectively and those in non-KBK region Rs 35,000, Rs 25,000 and Rs 15,000 respectively,” he said.
Besides, the cabinet approved amendment to change moratorium period under Kalinga Sikhya Sarathi Yojana to 90 days. Under the scheme, students will have to pay 1 per cent interest on educational loans.
The meeting chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik at secretariat here was attended by finance minister Sashi Bhusan Behera, chief secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi and other senior officials.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.