Rain, Thunderstorm Alert For 21 Districts Of Odisha

Source: Suprakash Mishra
Reading Time: 1 minute

Bhubaneswar: The India Meteorological Department (IMD) on Monday issued rain and thunderstorm alert for 21 districts in Odisha.

In a release, the Meteorological Centre, Bhubaneswar, said that thunderstorm  with gusty surface wind and  lightning with light to moderate rainfall will occur at one or two places in Khurda, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Deogarh, Jajpur, Bhadrak, Baragarh, Angul, Nayagarh, Balangir, Boudh, Sonepur, Nuapada, Sundargarh, Sambalpur  and Jharsuguda between 6. 30 am and 10.30 am.

The release further said that a cyclonic circulation over the eastern parts of Bihar and adjoining sub-Himalayan West Bengal on Saturday has turned into trough line at 1.5 km above the mean sea level from Chhattisgarh to north interior Karnataka, while another trough line runs from interior Odisha to east-central Arabian Sea across the south Chhattisgarh, Telangana and north interior Karnataka. Under its influence, there will be light to moderate rainfall with thunderstorm and hail at some places in the state for four days till February 28.