Vacate Govt Quarters In 3 Days, Odisha Speaker Tells Ex-MLAs

Bhubaneswar: A month after sending a notice to former MLAs to vacate their government quarters, Speaker Surya Narayan Patro on Saturday sent another reminder asking them to do so in three days.

The Speaker said the former MLAs will have to vacate their quarters as the state government has decided to construct a multi-storey building after demolishing the old and existing government quarters from next month.

“It has been decided that the present MLAs will be provided with temporary accommodation until the completion of the new building,” he added.

On September 16, the Speaker had written to the former MLAs that the government will disconnect water and electricity connections to the quarters if they did not move out.

The 26 ex-MLAs who have been asked to vacate their government quarters are BJP leader and Odisha BJP president and Kalahandi MP, Basant Panda, former BJD ministers Bijayshree Routray, Jugal Kishore Patnaik and Damodar Rout, Nandini Devi, Pravat Tripathy, BJP leader KV Singhdeo, Pushpendra Singhdeo, Sanjay Das Burma, Bhujabal Majhi, Debasis Nayak, Golak Bihari Nayak, Kishore Tarai, Mahesh Sahu, Nitish Gangadev, Ramesh Majhi, Sanjib Sahu, Sarojini Hembram and Jhina Hikaka.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.