Hockey Odisha Wins 9th Hockey Jr Men National Championship

Aurangabad: Hockey Odisha defeated Uttar Pradesh Hockey 4-3 in a shootout in the final of the 9th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2019 (A Division) at the Sports Authority of India Campus here on Thursday.

The high-voltage match ended in 1-1 draw at regulation time. Hockey Odisha, however, held their nerves and outperformed Uttar Pradesh Hockey in the shootout, courtesy skillful goalkeeping by Sahil Kumar Nayak and strikers Prakash Dhir, Sushil Dhanwar, Laban Lugun and Kirshna Tirkey.

Earlier, Sushant Toppo had scored for Hockey Odisha  in the 30th minute, which Shivam Ananad of Uttar Pradesh Hockey equalised in the 44th minute.

Hockey Odisha had marched into the final after defeating Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 4-2 in a pulsating shootout after the two teams drew 0-0 at regulation time.