Odisha To Host Commonwealth TT Championships

Picture Courtesy: TTFI

Bhubaneswar/Cuttack: Odisha will host the next Commonwealth TT Championships from July 17-22. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik took to Twitter to make this announcement on Wednesday, while thanking Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) for appreciating organisation of 80th National and Inter-State Table Tennis Championship in Cuttack.

In the national championship will concluded on Wednesday, Achanta Sharath Kamal was crowned as the National Table Tennis Champion for a record ninth time at Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Cuttack. Archana Kamath clinched the trophy in the women’s singles event for the first time while successful Asian Games pair of Sharath Kamal and Manika Batra managed to beat top-seeded pairing of Manav Thakkar and Archana Girish Kamath 3-1 in mixed doubles.

A total of 35 teams, including 550 players from different parts of the country, participated in the mega championship held from January 4 to 9.