TDP To Contest Assembly, LS Polls In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) will field its candidates in Odisha for the ensuing assembly and Lok Sabha elections scheduled next year.

As informed by TDP observer for Odisha Rajesh Putra, the party on the basis of its initial survey has decided to field candidates in 52 assembly and five Lok Sabha seats in the state.

“Our prime focus is on assembly and Lok Sabha seats in the undivided Koraput and Ganjam districts where there is a sizeable Telugu-speaking population. We have decided to field our candidates to contest the Lok Sabha elections from Koraput, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Aska constituencies. We are also trying to field one more candidate in the coastal belts of the state. Our party supremo Chandrababu Naidu will announce the name of the candidates very soon,” Putra said.

A survey is being conducted other constituencies in Odisha and a decision to field more candidates will be taken soon, he added.